Gig Posters

Posters: 155148 | Bands: 135183 | Designers: 11479                 
   
       RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 



 Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Hrabovsky's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    3,099
    Comments
    638

    Default MAC - Finder quits when renaming files...

    When I try to rename a file, the finder flashes off and back again and the file still has the old name. I have to Save As... from the app or set folder names when created. Can't alter them in Finder.

    Trashed finder.plist, it didn't help. Ran Disk Utility, verified and fixed permissions, nothing.

    Any ideas? This is crazy annoying.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho
    Clay's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    11,046
    Comments
    301

    Default

    *PLEASE DO NOT PM ME WITH SUPPORT REQUESTS - CLICK THE CONTACT LINK AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE*

  3. #3
    Hrabovsky's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    3,099
    Comments
    638

    Default

    OOof.

    Okay, I found a reference to a guy having issues with Emblematic, which is a retarded app that lets you apply stupid pix and sounds as labels for files, in lieu of the simple color labels Mac offers. Dumb.

    Long story short, Mac PPC users who run 3rd party apps that access Finder info for files/folders may have trouble after installing the most recent security update. The only way around it is to deactivate the responsible app. To do that use the Console utility.

    I had StuffIt AVR enabled (which is a default with an install of StuffIt Deluxe). It allows you to just rename a .TIF with the .SIT extension and the app automatically compresses the file. That in itself sounds problematic when it comes to expanding files—which supposedly works just the opposite.

    +

    And Clay, Jan 1 I'm going premium again. Economic downturn and all that shite... I miss the muzak player and don't like being gray down there.

  4. #4
    JoshPodolske's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kent, washington
    Posts
    2,010
    Comments
    402

    Default

    A ppc and not intel? you are running the most curent osx? PPC you might be on your own, no one seems to care about ppc macs, only intel.

  5. #5
    Charles T. Duck's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Liquor Park
    Posts
    656
    Comments
    132

    Default

    Clay lives for these threads.

  6. #6
    Justin.Ryan's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    1,154
    Comments
    88

    Default

    Haha I have noticed. For the record, I have only crashed once in the 2 years I have had this Mac.

    knock on wood?

  7. #7
    JoshPodolske's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kent, washington
    Posts
    2,010
    Comments
    402

    Default

    me never. ever , ever. never had a problem. and i do not need to knock on wood.

  8. #8
    Hrabovsky's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    3,099
    Comments
    638

    Default

    I have a first generation G5 Dual 2GHz PPC running 10.4.11 and it's been super stable in terms of the OS.
    And of course, it's all moving to Intel, but I've been using Macs since System 6 on a 512. So it goes.
    It's already time to update all my apps again. Adobe needs money, too.

  9. #9
    Premium Member
    macthulhu's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Jamestown, NY
    Posts
    3,929
    Comments
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hrabovsky View Post
    I have a first generation G5 Dual 2GHz PPC running 10.4.11 and it's been super stable in terms of the OS.
    And of course, it's all moving to Intel, but I've been using Macs since System 6 on a 512. So it goes.
    It's already time to update all my apps again. Adobe needs money, too.
    I have the 2nd generation dual 2ghz. It's still a brute, considering it's a few years old. Turn off the goofy add ons and run the Combo Update for 10.4.11. Or get your hands on Leopard and stop the updates at 10.5.5. Make sure your Adobe stuff is at least CS2 though. Also, see previous Finder problems thread... it may or may not have any bearing on your issue, but it's worth repeating. http://www.gigposters.com/forums/any...c-tip-day.html
    This douche requires a lesson in humility that starts with a pillowcase full of soda cans and ends with emergency dental surgery. - Von Dada

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •