Gig Posters

Posters: 154962 | Bands: 135070 | Designers: 11471                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Comments

Default Registration / Cutting

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to printing posters and I was hoping to get some of your opinions to help maximizing my printing time.

I'm about to do a 3 color run of 100+ and I've never ran that many before. My question is this: is it better to do some test prints and try to get the print right where it needs to be on paper that is already pre-cut to size (i.e. not printing registration marks)? Or would it be better to just print the registration marks on paper that is an inch or two larger than I need and then just cut them down to size, cutting the registration marks off?

The print will have about a 1/2" gutter on each side. And I don't have access to a decent paper cutter, so I'll be cutting them by hand with an x-acto and a straight edge.

Just curious as to how you guys do your larger "by hand" runs.

Comments

Seriously — go befriend a local printing company. You need an ally with a cutter...

Z

Premium Member

Comments

call printing shops, ask them if they'll cut stuff for you on their guillotine. We print a few with Reg marks and then tape off unless they are getting cut off. Depends on the job, but in you situation, I'd just print a few then tape off the screen. Saves you that extra step.
    The Half and Half
    Now Selling Speedball Ink for all your East Coasters.

Comments

You dont have to have reg marks on your paper to register...I suggest you look up registration on this site, get your paper cut down by a local printer/copy shop etc. and print your run...cutting by hand is very bad form

Premium Member

Comments

i would rather not cut 100 prints down by hand.

everyone that has posted so far is right.