Gig Posters

Posters: 156375 | Bands: 135981 | Designers: 11549                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Comments

Default quality of charcoal transfer

i'm still a newbie, but thankfully i have a talented husband whose stuff transfers great. unfortunately, we have very different styles and my lines are very purposely unclean. i have been xeroxing the shit out of stuff - still trying to keep some pencil quality.
    anyone have any suggestions about keeping a soft charcoal line? i'm working on something now and don't want to lose it.

Premium Member

Comments

scan it
    Brg!
    Barricades of hamburgers divide the nation.

Comments

but what about the strokes that aren't completely black?

Premium Member

Comments

Scan it grayscale, you'll pick up the grays. If you're going to screen print it you'll have to do a fine halftone. Maybe Jay could give you some hints, all of his stuff retains the soft detail.
    Brg!
    Barricades of hamburgers divide the nation.

Comments

scan it grayscale and use diffusion dither bitmap. it will hold most of it

Comments

OR - if you want to take the computer out of it - draw right onto to frosted mylar or acetate and use a Stabilo pencil - they are primarily usd for litho but work great for soft pencil textures in screenprinting as well.

Comments

Quote Originally Posted by stinkbait View Post
    scan it grayscale and use diffusion dither bitmap. it will hold most of it
    i will try this first

Comments

Quote Originally Posted by Gregory View Post
    OR - if you want to take the computer out of it - draw right onto to frosted mylar or acetate and use a Stabilo pencil - they are primarily usd for litho but work great for soft pencil textures in screenprinting as well.
    and i will definitely try this second.