Gig Posters

Posters: 156388 | Bands: 135996 | Designers: 11551                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Premium Member

Comments

Smile Pros and cons using tensionable frames.

Hi people,
    I'm a person of incredible meanness, so I was thinking to buy tensionable frames (I mean those ones where you place the fabric and with a spanner you stretch the fabric on the frames). IMHO replacing the fabric on the frames takes a lot of time and money, if you contact the specialized services.

I have no experience with the carousels but i'm working to buy a 8/8 manual press to print clothings, so I will use them on an Anatol 8/8 manual carousel (mod. Violet) so I'm asking to myself if it's the right choice.

What do you think?

And for a flat press, 70x100cm, to print adhesives, posters and other flat things, is better to use tensionable frames or common iron frames?

Thank you all,
    Fabio

ps. May the Squeegee be with you

Comments

Learning how to tension them has some learning curve to it but, once you pass that it not much of a problem. You have to read and figure it out or it can drive you nuts.

I tension up my own screens

-loco

Comments

pre-tensioned frames are pretty cheap these days. seems like a whole lotta sweat, cursing, tears, jacked up fingers and anger to me.

you need a good amount of tension that is reliable for printing on flatstock. i can't tell you how many people i have seen quit trying to screenprint altogether because rather than it being hard or frustrating as a medium, they are using home-stretch crapass frame or old frames with the tension of a Barbie hammock.

unless you expect to go through a hundred frames a month, it doesn't seem worth the effort.