Gig Posters

Posters: 154224 | Bands: 134497 | Designers: 11431                 
   
       RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 



 Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    bradbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    oakland, ca
    Posts
    801
    Comments
    28

    Default conveyor dryer blues

    so i had the oppurtunity to buy a little buddy conveyor dryer for cheap ($800). it got here about a week ago and i finally had time to put it together and take it for a spin. top dryer portion works fine, but my conveyor doesn't work. i called up the dude i bought it from and he swore up and down they tested it right before they mailed it, and he was on the phone with me for about an hour while i poked around at the motor and switch trying to figure out what's wrong and we got nothing.

    only thing i can think of is that there was a small copper spring in the bottom of the box it was mailed in, but after dissassembling everything i don't see anywhere where that would go, and i don't think that's the problem.

    so yeah, i've decided the best way to handle this is to just get a new motor and switch. anyone know anything about this kind of stuff and have any recommendations? i found what appears to be the same motor (a dayton gear motor) online, but then i'd have no clue how to wire it to a switch.

    anyone have any suggestions for me for things to look for to try to fix it, or have any advice on replacing the motor and switch?

  2. #2
    Premium Member
    steve w's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Meat Zone
    Posts
    15,663
    Comments
    2650

    Default

    The only advice I have is to hire an electrician, unless you really know what you're doing. I shaved quite a few IQ points off messing around with my 220-volt dryer. I was very calm and happy for about a week, though.
    "I guarantee, the image will not be fade off and you will be pleasure it too. " - a bootlegger
    We need to print a tshirt "Avoid sucker effect!"-Fabio
    "fudge isn't sharp"-phoondaddy

  3. #3

    Default

    Those motors should last the life of the dryer.. I mean they arent doing hardly any work.. compared to what they are designed for. Ours requires its own power supply.. so the dryer and the motor require seperate power. That is absolutley no help.

  4. #4
    Premium Member
    crosshair's Avatar


    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    6,733
    Comments
    3851

    Default Ha!

    And I'm the sucker who bought the conveyor dryer from Steve! It hasn't moved in 8(?) years. Wiring III-phase 220 = not for me. Anybody want a dusty, dusty, dryer?

    Hi Steve!
    Dan/Crosshair
    Crosshair pushing here until its limit the bringing together.

    www.crosshairchicago.com

    "Every single Crosshair poster I've ever seen is almost exactly the same. Do these guys even have a bit of creativity in them? I mean, come one - shitty old building pics photoshopped with text over them. Pretty pathetic to say the least."

    "it just seems like so little effort is put into creating this? am i missing something?"

  5. #5
    bradbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    oakland, ca
    Posts
    801
    Comments
    28

    Default

    this one's 115 not 220, which is about half the reason i bought it. my shop's not wired for 220. i'm pretty handy with electrical stuff, i don't think it'll be a big deal for me to get a new motor and just wire it to a switch, but i've never done anything like this so i don't know where to start.

    these are the motors i was looking at, i'm pretty sure the one on my dryer is on here somewhere:
    http://www.electricmotorwarehouse.co...gear_motor.htm


    what i want to do is make a new switch for the motor i've got, to rule out the possibility of that being fucked up before i drop $120 on a new motor. anyone know how to wire one of these things up to a switch?

  6. #6
    Premium Member
    mysterion's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    225
    Comments
    4

    Default

    Geez, a switch should be plenty easy...heck, just to see it that's the problem, wire the cord from the motor straight to a plug. Insert plug in outlet, motor runs, it's okay, breaker kicks open or motor doesn't run, motor's bad. A switch just wires inline with one of the leads out of the motor, so it can break the circuit open or closed...plenty easy. Just make sure you take the amperage into consideration, or you might be eating switches. Should be able to find a toggle switch at any electrical supply place. One thing though, DO NOT go to an auto parts store for the switch. Those are for 6/12 volt and you'll burn 'em up. Good luck with this!

    Oh, and AndyMac, you rock.
    "That's the way I like it, baby, I don't wanna live forever - and don't forget the Joker." Lemmy

  7. #7
    bradbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    oakland, ca
    Posts
    801
    Comments
    28

    Default

    yeah i should have thought of that, i'll wire the motor to a plug. i can hook up a switch no problem, i guess i meant to say its a knob thingie to adjust the speed of the belt and i have no idea how to do that. there's like a circuit board and junk. i don't know what that stuff does. but thanks, i'll try that.

  8. #8
    Premium Member
    mysterion's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    225
    Comments
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bradbane
    yeah i should have thought of that, i'll wire the motor to a plug. i can hook up a switch no problem, i guess i meant to say its a knob thingie to adjust the speed of the belt and i have no idea how to do that. there's like a circuit board and junk. i don't know what that stuff does. but thanks, i'll try that.
    Ahh...the knob-thingie. Well, at least by wiring the motor straight up, you can verify/eliminate it as working/not working, and then work from there (I hate solid state electronics, it's so...invisible).

    And my M & R Econo-max, the belt just stops every so often, and I have to wiggle the knob-thingie to make it go again. The one thing I haven't tried is to borrow some "pot cleaner" spray from one of my guitar pals...clean off the gook on the potentiometer...

    Good luck!
    "That's the way I like it, baby, I don't wanna live forever - and don't forget the Joker." Lemmy

  9. #9
    B-DROID's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my eye
    Posts
    13,558
    Comments
    1628

    Default

    Just go buy some hamsters.

  10. #10
    Premium Member
    DenisMutter's Avatar


    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Very Near Dayton, Ohio y'all
    Posts
    8,184
    Comments
    735

    Default

    220, 221, whatever it takes.
    API Local, Member 025 - Hack For Life!
    http://www.fnharsh.com
    http://fnharshdesign.bigcartel.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •