Gig Posters

Posters: 156383 | Bands: 135985 | Designers: 11550                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My First Poster

Comments

Default My First Poster

I finished my first silk screen poster, and I wanted to say thanks to everyone here. I really couldn't have done it without all the great advice and information here. I've done some design for stuff like this before, but I've never tried any screen printing myself.

Here's the artwork:

It's for the night that I run here in SF, more specifically our valentine's
    day event tonite.

Even though it was 4 colors (a bit much for a complete beginner), This
    design worked well because each color was so independent of the others. I just put in a littler trapping for the pink fill of the hands image,

For the printing I used these shitty speedball 16x20 12XX screens I got from the local art store. Which gave me alot of jagged edges on the finer details. I'm definitely getting some nider screens. Probably 200 or 230. I mean 12XX is like 125, right??

I created the artowrk in photoshop, using spot channels for each color. Then I printed to 13x19 inkjet transparencies for the film positives. Also, I used speedball water based acryllics, speedball diazo emulsion, and some 100lb bristol paper. did a run of about 70. I had a few problems with the water based inks clogging the screen. So I just started keeping my pace constant, and used a spary bottle of water to spray down the screen when it clogged. This worked pretty well to clear it out.

Oh yeah, I also learned that you have to be really careful when washing out emulsion from the screen. You gotta make sure you get it out of all the positive areas. I'd really love to have a backlight washout booth instead of just using my shower.