Gig Posters

Posters: 154402 | Bands: 134582 | Designers: 11434                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Premium Member

Comments

Default Archival qualities of inks...and paper

sunday morning sermon from squeegeeville....

I was reading the post on the archival qualities of regular inks (TW) and latex. I'm no scientist, but here's the way I understand it.

The most important part is the paper....if it isn't 100% rag (made with cotton) acid free, then the chemicals in it will attack both the ink and yellow the paper over time. Some paper companies sell cellulose based paper (made with trees, this is how 99% of regular paper is made) that is acid free - this is very popular with the 'offset litho limited edition'crowd. There is also mixed papers, part rag part cellulose. If you print on regular papers, even without light hitting the piece paper will start leaching colour and turning yellow. It's the air reacting with the chemicals and acids still in the paper. So if you are printing art for the ages, you need to consider your paper. To collectors of art and galleries, this becomes very important. On the other hand, if a particular print is rare, it is rare, and the way it was made is moot.