Gig Posters

Posters: 152981 | Bands: 133625 | Designers: 11366                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Comments

Default Inconsistent black field

Hi everyone!

I'm new around here, and need a bit of advice. First off, a little intro: My name's Mike, I'm a 22-year old recent Graphic Design graduate. Working a lame design job at a sign shop currently, but I am hoping to hook myself up with a studio soon, preferably one that deals a lot with poster design (surprise, eh?).

Anywho, the issue at hand. I have been screenprinting for a couple years now, and have never encountered this one before. I'm working on fully screenprinted promo books to send to studios, and on the cover there's a good bit of pure black. Prior to this I had to lay down a field of white, which went down evenly and cleanly. When I screened the black, though, it seemed as though the paper lifted with the screen a bit in some spots, leaving a kind of weird inconsistency. I was curious what caused this, and what I can do in the future to avoid it?

Below is a quick 'n' dirty scan of one of the more prominent examples of what I'm talking about:

If it helps, I was printing on brown Kraft paper with Speedball Acrylic black. Thanks in advance,

Mike Salkewicz
    typhoon@loadmail.com
    aim dyslocosaurus

Comments

You need more off contact. Not enough snap in your screen.

Comments