Gig Posters

Posters: 155198 | Bands: 135211 | Designers: 11481                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Comments

i'm going to make a poster for a show that we are to be playing in the new year. i've never done it before, but having had access to this site since pretty much before it went live, i've seen some ideas that i like, some that i don't like, and some that i love.

i'm not so much worried about the artwork, i'm pretty sure i can handle that end of it, but what i'm wondering is this:

if you were to use a graphics program to add text to hand drawn pieces, what would you use? i have pretty much any PC tool available to me, but i'm wondering what would be the recommended tool to help me with layout and fonts...

thanks.

Comments

I recommend Illustrator or QuarkXpress.

A lot of people might tell you to use photoshop, but the problem I have with photoshop is the edges dont' print out crisp ../they kind of have a fuzzy edge to them, which won't happen with Illustrator, etc.

scan and save your image at medium high-res (300 dpi or so) and save it as a bitmap or Tiff file....clean it up in Photoshop if you have to.

In Illustrator, "place" or copy and paste the
    image from Photoshop. Add the text from there.

personally, I'd do the lettering by hand, esp. if it's hand-done artwork, but that's just a personal style/preference.

good luck!

Comments

Mmmmm...that's a great question. I've been using graphics software since '88 and have done layout and seps out of every major program out there.

I tend to use photshop, painter and freehand to do all my work after the intial illustration is done.