Gig Posters

Posters: 156080 | Bands: 135799 | Designers: 11529                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Comments

Default What kind of emulsion do I need? Vellum vs. Transparency?

I'm just getting into doing screenprinted posters, and I'm buying my supplies.

What kind of emulsion do I need? The place I'm buying from recommended DC 565. Is that the right stuff for me? What do you use? What do you like? And what kind of stripper solvent do you use to clean off that emulsion? I'm building a light box with a 500 watt light for exposures- does that factor into what kind I need?

2.) Vellum vs. Transparency? I'll be using an inkjet printer to print the different colors of my poster designs. Office Depot sells 50 transparencies for about $30. Does anyone use transparencies? Where can I buy Vellum if that's what you recommend?

Thanks to everyone who offers some advice.

Beau

Premium Member

Comments

Go with the vellum. You need a very opaque print out. Transparencies sometimes don't cut it.
    "no one best touch my Benz or capriz, lest they want a foo in dey azz" -Merf
    "pancakes sound dope." -Peveto

"Jesus pancakes sound dope." -Peveto 2010
    "i'm dropping like mad, yo." -Jay Ryan
    "Any halftizzles up in yo shizzle? You've got moizizzle." -RichieGoodtimes
    "bdix - 5 stars" -Poguemahone
    "hail the mighty bacon." -Farley
    "them's some sweet socks" -Fruitstripe Peveto
    "not with you the force is" - Ferg

posters
    twitter
    twitter KLCTVEfusion
    facebook
    d
    ribble

Comments

We use Chromaline UDC-HV emulsion. It's purple and works great.

http://www.chromaline.com/emulsions.html#udchv