Gig Posters

Posters: 154962 | Bands: 135074 | Designers: 11473                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Premium Member
    Comments

Default First try CMYK on art paper. (pics)

Hi there, Noob from Singapore,

My names Ben, "beng" http://www.facebook.com/bengsart long time lurker, learned a LOT form everyone here. I have been printing regularly for about 12 months not gig posters, more pop arty pieces on art paper doing editions of between 5-10. I've been using combinations of spray painted color stencils with screen prints over the top for details. I have done a few 2 color screen prints to work on my registration techniques, and this weekend I tried to do my first CMYK print.

My registration was good, I opted to not use the hinge clamps, they have developed some slack over the last year and they also sit too high from the table surface so I end up with too much snap distance at one end. I use duct tape to fix wood blocks to the table top around all corners of the screen frame, its laborious but holds really solid. I taped 3mm of cardboard spacers to all corners for the snap spacing. I made my own vacuum table which holds the page in place nicely. The screen mesh is 305t/in and the separations are printed at 65LPI. (hope I have the lingo correct)