Gig Posters

Posters: 155619 | Bands: 135529 | Designers: 11506                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Comments

Default Problem with screen sticking briefly to poster paper, leaving a mark

I am new to screen printing my posters. Still trying to get a hang of it.

I am printing an 18 x 24 poster. At the top is a large colored area.

My problem is the screen briefly sticks to the paper
    . It releases after a half second, but it leaves a kind of halo mark where the screen was kissing the paper for too long. It looks like S_ _ t.

Possible causes:
    Tension of squeegie against screen
    Speed of squeegie
    consistency of ink
    tension of screen
    size of screen wich is rather large, 47 x 55.
    This is a second coat of ink on the paper through the screen. I didn't like the way it went down the first time, so am going over it. Not sure if the original coat (which is totally dry. It had been sitting for over a month) is making a surface that is aggrivating this situation.

TW Graphics waterbased ink (not flat ink, just normal)
    I have an old Filbar semi automatic press, with a vaccum table which I mask off with taped down sheets of paper on the area that my poster does not cover.

Is there a common cause for the quick sticking of a screen down on sticky wet ink? I did a quick search of the forum but didn't see an answer.

Thanks for your help,
    Tim

Premium Member

Comments

angle your image so the squeegee is not hitting the entire area flat on. this way the squeegee starts in a corner and the paper can stay sucked down on the table to give you a proper peel.