Gig Posters

Posters: 155580 | Bands: 135513 | Designers: 11505                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Comments

Default Bypassing the Vacuum on/off on American Tempo?

I'd like to try setting our vac to simply run when on, not on/off as it is.

I read that some on here bypassed this feature but, looking inside the front box, I can't seem to track where this on/off is happening to the vac. It sounds like the vac is always on but only sucks air when the screen reaches a certain point on it's flood/downward cycle and stops the suction at the end of the print stroke. I thought I only saw a 'normal' set of hot-neut-ground going to the vacuum motor so this must be some fancy pants signal that controls this? I'm an okay electrician but get quickly lost when venturing into electronics. If someone could post up the basics of how this works it might help a lot of owners of various American clamshells down the road, myself included, we also have a Cameo.

Follow up ?: our vac emits this lovely, high-pitched, super-sonic whine when running, like a vacuum cleaner that huffed a helium balloon...typical?

Premium Member

Comments

I haven't done this, so there might be a better way than I'm about to describe. On our Cameo, the vacuum hose hooks into a box that's open on the top and bottom. There's a big metal piece with a hole in it that is the size of the hose. It's attached to a turnbuckle and slides up and down through the box when the head raises and lowers. When the hole matches up with the hose, the vacuum to the table is on, otherwise the suction is cut off.

I imagine you could simply remove the metal piece with the hole in it, block off the top and bottom of the box, and you'd have full-time suction to the table.

Premium Member

Comments