Gig Posters

Posters: 154460 | Bands: 134610 | Designers: 11442                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Comments

Default Preparing my new screens/frames?

Newbie here...

I recently took a poster printing workshop and the instructor had a band of duct tape "permanently" around the inside edges of the screen to seal the edges/corners. Is this common practice? What is the proper way to do this? How far should the duct tape go "on to" the screen from the aluminum edge? Is this done only on one side?

This is different from the temporary packing-tape coverage where the emulsion stops.

Any advice is appreciated, and a picture would be a bonus.

I have been a graphic designer for apparel screen printing for over 10 years, but I'm setting up my first poster printing station and am trying to learn as much as possible from the forum here.

Thanks!

Comments

i wouldnt want anything on the screen thats going to collect goo and dirt and be sticky on a permanent basis, and duct tape deteriorates and gets gross. i think its in your best interest to be able to 100% completely wash out the screens everytime. it takes two seconds to tape up in the inside of your screen. honestly, also just lifting out that tape around the edges and tossing it in the garbage is 25% of cleaning a screen anyways.

Premium Member

Comments

75% if you extend it in to where the squeegee edges run.

cheap 2" clear packing tape. Seal the edges with the back of your fingernail before printing and the waterbased ink doesn't creep under as easily.