Gig Posters

Posters: 155198 | Bands: 135211 | Designers: 11481                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Comments

Default The Music Poster

So I'm an illustration student doing a study (which has yet to receive a title, and really a specific direction...) on the history of the music poster. And I'm kind of falling flat on my face. I've done plenty research into the history of it I guess, but I wanted to have a large section on the music poster of today, how it has changed/evolved with trends, the means of printing it, if it has changed, why? And in what way.

With it being so current I guess I'm finding it hard to find out about, or find someone who can help me... I was wondering if anyone here could any pointers whatsoEVER would be hugely appreciated. Also, I'm from Scotland... Any info on the scottish music poster scene (does that exist? Haha.) would be an added bonus.

A million thankyous... X

Premium Member

Comments

http://www.amazon.com/Art-Rock-Poste...7854351&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.com/Gig-Posters-I-...ref=pd_sim_b_1

50s - lettterpress
    60s - screenprint
    70s - offset
    80s - xerox
    90s-present - screenprint

Premium Member

Comments

1st step, don't make multiple threads about the same thing.

2nd step, do more research. you obviously haven't done enough.

3rd step, do your own work. You've come to the right place. All of the posters on this site have the date they were submitted, and 99% of them have the date written on the actual poster. Find some from each year and draw your own conclusions.
    The Half and Half
    Now Selling Speedball Ink for all your East Coasters.

Comments

GigPosters.com - Spectrum - St Deluxe

silkscreen from the 80's

ask some bands like Duglas from the BMX Bandits for local history he's accessible

Comments

Hi there!