Gig Posters

Posters: 155148 | Bands: 135201 | Designers: 11480                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Accurate color matching?

Forgive me for the ridiculous question but I never went to art school and I slept through my physics of light class... I have been running a print shop for about 6 months, doing gig posters and art prints for local folks, as well as some CD covers, business cards, etc... I have recently been commissioned to print a set of 18x24s that will be cut into over 7000 4x6 art prints.

I have a nice film printer, exposure unit, big supply of screens, great manual press, and my process for pre-press and printing is solid. My tools and skills are incredibly legit and the end product shows it. However, this commission is going to be a bit tricky for me as it is very important that my the colors and overlay are done exactly to the artist's request (whereas I have been eyeballing it up to now).

I have been mixing acrylics with Speedball and don't really want to jump into house paint quite yet. Short of buying a $600 mixing kit, is there some way of at least getting me close to the right mix? Mix different quantities of CMY inks or RGB inks?

Thanks!

Comments

RGB inks? Ooof.

Get yourself a Pantone formula guide, that'll at least get you going in the right direction. You'll be able to check out how the colors are formulated and hopefully not turn anything brown.

I know, I know. I was joking about the RGB part but it seems like lots of folks will max based on primary colors (RYB I guess)... Will I get halfway close if I mix according to the CMY values that Pantone gives?

Comments