Gig Posters

Posters: 156357 | Bands: 135975 | Designers: 11549                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Comments

Default Exposure issue/loss of detail problem

Hi all,

I'm new here - been meaning to introduce myself but couldn't find a suitable place so I'll cut to the chase and get straight into my current print dilemma.

I'm an illustrator and print-maker based in South London, UK. I used to work out of a shared print studio with a fancy vacuum exposure unit but have long since left to make my own hotch-potch set up.

I recently got a new screen and a new halogen work lamp (x2 500w) for exposing as well as a some new photo emulsion. Up till then I was using four year old emulsion and wondering why it was causing me so much grief to expose with!

So I did my first screen this week. In the past I used to only coat one side of the screen but for a change decided to coat both sides as recommended by some. Any thoughts on this?

I exposed the screen with the lamps 25" above for 25 minutes. In hind sight this may have been too long. Can exposing a screen for too long lead to loss in detail? The picture below shows the problem - the trace with the negative on is crisp and clean (although there is some slight pixelation which annoyed me but that's a different story!) but as you can see the in the print below there has been some loss of detail.

Initially when I washed the screen out I was stoked with what looked like a super clean exposure and in fact I didn't really notice the loss in detail (specifically on the lettering) until I'd done a run of prints. Part of the issue is I've gone with a computer font - usually I do my own lettering but I felt it suited the design. Hand drawn lettering is more forgiving in screen-printing in my experience...