Gig Posters

Posters: 154432 | Bands: 134602 | Designers: 11438                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to make a Vacuum Table for a 4 color press

A very easy guide to building your own vacuum table for your press.
    (This one for the Ryonet 4 color press.)

Im just getting into screen printing and want to focus on primarily poster work. Through many trials and many errors, I had finally gotten down the process but the adhesive that was needed to hold the posters down became very problematic. So I knew I needed a vacuum table. My first option was to just build a vacuum table that would be a separate single color press. But I lack the space for another large object in my shop(bedroom).
    So I decided to just make one to fit on my 4 color press.

The problem I ran into was that it had to be as thin as my platens, which were only 1 3/4" thick. The issue with that was the wood would be to thin and would probably warp in a short amount of time. So I drew up some plans to make one that fit the arm and be sturdy enough to last a while. It having two separate compartments that are connected.

All in all, it cost about 40 bucks and took 4 hours or so.

[IMG][/IMG]

Dimensions: 24" x 31"

Materials: (2) 8.75" x 31" MDF 3/4 thick
    24" x 31" Hardboard 1/4 thick
    16 feet of 1x2
    (I was originally going to have all the 1x2's cut to size but found it easier to glue and nail first then hand cut the remainder) So dont go by any of the measurements in the image above.
    Wood Glue- - A whole lot
    1" brad nails
    3/4" square tubing
    Silicon 2
    Shop Vac or any vacuum cleaner will work

Tools: C-clamps
    Hand saw or any other small saw (jig, etc.)
    Sand Paper
    Drill with 3/32 bit
    Measuring Tape / T Square