Gig Posters

Posters: 156357 | Bands: 135960 | Designers: 11547                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Comments

Default What should I charge for album art?

I just did a poster for a band and they loved it: http://www.gigposters.com/posters.php?poster=28408

They've asked us to do their next show and mentioned the possibility of album art. I've never done this before ... what should I charge?

They don't have a lot of cash, as usual, and we did this poster for free, but I don't want to give our services away. Is there a going rate for album art?

Thanks people!

Oh, and so far, i'm assuming that I'll prepare a digital file and send it off somewhere to be printed.

Comments

just take into consideration how many albums theyre prolly gonna sell, what kind of budget they have, and if they have a chance of getting you better paying work inthe future (if they are soon to be signed) or wahtever.

i rarely do full album art for under $300. but if its your first, consider going lower. or just go by the hour.

its a completely different ball game if theyre on a label with money. then the price goes up up up

Comments

if they are putting out themselves and you do it cheap (don't work too cheap)
    make sure they know that the price they are paying is just for the one they are putting out, and that if another label picks it up you using your artwork,
    the new label has to pay you.
    with a little luck you might actually get paid what you are worth

Comments

Quote Originally Posted by mike king
    make sure they know that the price they are paying is just for the one they are putting out, and that if another label picks it up you using your artwork, the new label has to pay you.