Gig Posters

Posters: 156383 | Bands: 135985 | Designers: 11550                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Default Photopolymer emulsion for water based inks

I've been using photopolymer emulsion for the past 8 years...textile pv and graphic pu from sattichem, and i've tried ulano qtx (which i did not like). although both sattichem emulsions are suppose to be water proof once they are re-exposed I have started to have issues now that I am using my one arm press. It seems that the emulsion breaks down where the squeegee starts and on the edges of the paper...I was wondering if anyone could recommend a photopolymer emulsion that is water proof and hopefully available at Midwest. I am also wondering if this is something that is normal with one arm presses...I have just started using my tables one arm for printing big pieces and am still working out the kinks.

Premium Member

Comments

dual cure - has both diazo (water resistance) and photopolymer.

But re the breakdown, I've had that even with water resistant.

a solution.....before you start, tape out on the bottom of the screen where the paper edge is.

on the top, tape a rest area for your squeegee/ink puddle.

Before you start, use the back of your fingernail to seal the edge of the tape to the emulsion, it'll stop the ink from running under the tape.
    Andymac

services www.squeegeeville.com
    equipment www.tmiscreenprinting.com

Todo es empezar.

thanks Andy, I was looking into KIWOCOL Poly Plus Z, it's a dizao photopolymer and says that it's water resistant...gonna get a qt and give it a try.

I've been doing the tape trick, i was hoping to stop using so much tape but I guess that's just the way it is...

seems like there are a lot of little tricks to using a one arm...but it really helps making big prints.

Premium Member