Gig Posters

Posters: 156034 | Bands: 135787 | Designers: 11529                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Default Ink options for canvas? Need air dry, opaque, slow dry

Hey guys

I'm an artist and want to use some screen printed images in my paintings. I have not done screen printing in the past but recently bought supplies, successfully burned screens, etc.

My problem is that I don't know what ink to use. I thought I might be able to get away with using acrylic paint but it dries too fast and clogs the screens. There are products to slow the drying time of acrylic paint but I'd like to know if there are other options.

I need something that air dries (does not need to be heat set), is opaque, a decent selection of colors, and has a reasonable drying time so I don't have to rush to clean the screens. Also, I don't need anything that is super high quality and expensive.

I've searched around online and found stuff that either needs heat set, has transparency, or says it dries quickly.

Thanks in advance for your advice
    colin72

I'll try posting some pics of paintings I've done in case my description above of what I'm trying to do is confusing. The pics are paintings on stretched canvas. I currently use stencils to create some images in my work but most elements are hand painted. I think you'll be able to see that a lot of the imagery and patterns I use could be easily done with screen printing.

Comments