Gig Posters

Posters: 156388 | Bands: 135997 | Designers: 11551                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Premium Member

Comments

Default Emulsion exposure problems

Hi all: I've already red some of the related topics here, but I wanted to show up my problem, just in case someone can give me a very specific hint.

I'm a newbie, and (surprisingly) everything in my first test run went ok: I use a homemade exposure unit using UV fluorescent tubes and (following a direction from a local screenprinter) I exposed the screen for 7 min and everything went fine in the first place.

now I'm going for my fist gig commercial poster and as murphy's law says, something had to go wrong!

1) first try: emulsion started to peel off, so I guess I underexposed it and maybe I also gave too much coats (usually I gave two coats on print side , one on squegee side, this time I gave more)

2) second try I tried to expose to 8 minutes rather than 7 and gave only 3 coats as usual but still had different problems: various stripes in the upper side , like the emulsion went too thin (see picture, over the "o"), and the smallest details show blurred edges and the smallest ones did close. (see other pictures)

overexposed?
    emulsion getting old?
    did not dry the emulsion completely?

thanks in advance for any possible hint!

Premium Member

Comments

My guess is that you're not getting 100% contact between the film and the screen during exposure. Are you using any weight or a vacuum frame on top of your screen when exposing?
    It also looks like you're not washing out thoroughly enough.
    justinsantora.com
    a letter of resignation

"put the immersion on your mensch with a scrub-coaster. then print with a 70 durometer skyguy"
    -Steve W

Premium Member

Comments