Gig Posters

Posters: 152981 | Bands: 133626 | Designers: 11367                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Comments

Default Washing out problems / Troubleshooting.

Hey all,

As you know, I'm still very new to this. I've just burnt and washed out my 4th screen but this time I've noticed a fair amount of the emulsion has come off. I used the same lamp at the same distance for the same amount of time as before, with the same emulsion and negative. The only differences where:

-I used a different sheet of glass (Maybe something about thickness stopping the
    UV Light?)

-It was left coated but unexposed in a dark cupboard for about a week as opposed to a day / day and a half max.

My gut feeling is that maybe the age stopped it burning quite so well but I can't think of anything to back that up. What do you think?

Comments

If you want to know what I think:

Buy a 21 step transmission step wedge test. Put it on your screen. Follow the instructions. It will tell you how long to expose your screen.

Burn a screen with the time you found with your step wedge test with a positive. If your image doesn't wash out your positive isn't dense enough, get better film. If it washes out fine, you're in business.

Premium Member

Comments

Keep everything consistent as well. Don't switch out your glass for example. From you description, I'm thinking it may have been that.

As long as your screen is kept in a completely dark/dry area, it should keep pretty well for quite a while, if anything it would be harder to wash out.

Make sure your film is pressed tightly to the glass as well.

Good luck!
    The place is filled with uber-ghey emo hipster yuppie rich-bitch college vegan scumbags. - 8Ball