Gig Posters

Posters: 156034 | Bands: 135787 | Designers: 11529                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Premium Member

Comments

Default Darwin Deez - Letterpress/Screen print poster process.....

It's been a bit since I've posted a process thread. This here is my first attempt at combining some letterpress work with my screen printing. A lot of things were learned during this process that honestly has been the longest amount of time I have ever spent printing/waiting/printing a poster.

Setting the type.

The type locked into my sign press and all inked up.

Now here is the part where I started learning some lessons. Tuesbay is not a day of the week. It's really easy to spell check digital type, but hand set type when it's backwards? I always have trouble with the "b"s and "d"s. I also learned that I need to find some actual carbon paper for proofing as the stuff on hand from home depot did not really transfer enough for me to catch the typo.

The other lesson learned is that I need to test my Japan dryer to ink ratio. The prints took about 2 days to be kind of dry and even days later, if you put pressure on the ink, it would smear. Does anyone have experience with this? I'm using oil based etching ink with some burnt plate oil and then obviously, not enough Japan dryer. I've been told if you put too much it cracks. I guess I would rather have it take longer to dry then, crack, but neither would be awesome.

Back to the process: