Gig Posters

Posters: 155580 | Bands: 135525 | Designers: 11505                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Comments

Default Not into selling posters

I'm new to this game and I'm trying to find my feet with how it all works. I've spent a long time on this forum trawling through questions by other newbies and it has helped a lot towards giving me the confidence to know I'm doing things the 'right way', if there is such a thing with gig posters.

So anyway, when I started out I was taking my posters to the show and setting up a little stall and trying to sell them on the night. I often felt like I was in direct competition with the official merch stall. I didn't like it.

Recently I have tried to contact the band or management and arrange a deal where they sell them on the official merch stall and take a healthy cut. Although there's less in it for me, I feel better about contributing to the whole economy of the night in a more honest way and the posters seem to sell better from the band's table.

So here's the first time this has happened: the band get back to me and say they aren't into selling posters on their table. Fair enough. But I'm wondering what I do now - set up my own table on the night and try to sell them? Print the posters, give a bunch to the venue for promotion and try to sell the rest online? Or sack it in and don't bother screen printing them at all? Screen printing isn't cheap...