Gig Posters

Posters: 156255 | Bands: 135946 | Designers: 11547                 

RSS Feeds

Username:   Password: 
Register      

Social Networking Activity                 

Bands  Designers  New Arrivals  Top Lists  Forums  Buy Posters  Submit  Merch Store  Advertise  Widgets  Help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Premium Member

Comments

Default Kim does things he doesn't know how to - Part 1: Handmade-book project

As most of you don't know, I'm a Norwegian student, currently living in London, England and studying Graphic Design in year three at London Metropolitan University. For our final project here, we were largely free to do a self-directed project, allowing us to focus on an area of our own interest.

While many of my fellow students chose conceptual exploration, I find that rather vague and figured that I'd just do a larger project that would allow me to incorporate a wide range of the skills I have, as well as have me learn a few new ones along the way.

So, I'm currently making a book, a short biography on my grandfather, telling the story of his life and career. Currently it is 90 pages long... in case you were wondering how that works, since it is not dividable with four, it has a fold-out in the appendices for a large timeline graphic, the book's dimensions are 21 x 26 cm. Designwise it isn't terribly exciting, with rather conventional typography and layout, which I found fitting for a biography of an 82 year old man that has a target audience of a non-design-concious group of close family. Still, it has allowed me to work on a project that has involved a bit of everything, firsthand research, writing, lay-out, designing for print, photography, information design, the list goes on.

For the finished product I am planning on two editions, six books in Norwegian and a one-off in English which will be the primary piece of work assesed by my tutors and will include an extra chapter devoted to the design process and rationale behind my choices.