Posters: 93082 | Bands: 87006
Designers: 7434 | Posters Awaiting Approval: 8


   
 
RSS Feeds

Forums

New Arrivals
  Become a Gigposters.com Premium Member today!
Click here
to get join now! Membership has its privileges.
   Welcome to GigPosters.com! Become a Premium Member today to get the full experience - CLICK HERE for more info! 
Go Back   GigPosters.com > Site Issues > Problems

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2002, 10:16 AM
RichieGoodtimes's Avatar
RichieGoodtimes RichieGoodtimes is offline
Premium Member

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Franfuckyou
Posts: 24,223
Comments: 4865
Send a message via AIM to RichieGoodtimes
Default Suspicius Emails from Gigposters

I just got a really strange email from help@gigposters.com titled CELLPADDING with 2 strange attachments.

VALUE.exe and Mother_Family_500x230_03[1].jpg

What is this stuff. Some sort of virus thing? I'm not up on my viruses.
__________________
"If something can be both genuis and retarded at the same time, I think you guys have managed to get it down on paper."
- Jeff LaChance

"richie is correct.... you all should listen to him a bit more"
-piemel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden Printing Boy View Post
Wow Richie, in all honesty I think my poster shows greater craftsmanship, originality, is far more visually appealing, and fits the band's music better than yours. But what do I know, I didn't draw another skull with a viking helmet on.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2002, 10:25 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline

Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 169
Comments: 0
Default

Very odd indeed. I haven't even looked at my email today (I'm at work).

There is no way that it actually came from that email address. I get those emails all the time from assorted virus spammers out there.. but my virus protection catches them every time.

Make sure you have virus protection on your computer. I use Norton 2002.

If anyone else gets this, please let me know. That sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2002, 10:38 AM
rotodesign's Avatar
rotodesign rotodesign is offline

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 646
Comments: 106
Default

It's a virus, and I'm sure it's not actually coming from Gigposters. Whoever's doing it is getting e-mail addresses off web sites and sticking them in the "from" part of the e-mail before spamming other e-mail addresses stolen from the web. I get returned e-mails all the time that look like I sent them, but are viruses/spam. Unfortunately, anyone whose e-mail address is on the web is susceptible. Just delete them, and run a virus checker regularly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2002, 11:32 AM
Brute666's Avatar
Brute666 Brute666 is offline
Premium Member

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 2,600
Comments: 660
Default

It sounds like the Klez virus. It picks random email addresses from a computer's address book and then sends itself to every address in the list using the random address in the From column. The virus also picks random sentences from text files on the computer to use as the message. So you're looking for someone who has help@gigposters.com in their address book and has written about cellpadding and also has a picture called Mother_Family_500x230_03[1].jpg. This virus is still around because people don't know they have it. Anybody who receives it can't tell the person because they can't track down the infected computer.
The good news... It doesn't affect MACs or Linux.
You can read more about the virus here...
http://securityresponse.symantec.com...klez.h@mm.html

Delete it and check your system for viruses. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0