ORDER HERE!
Posters: 112214 | Bands: 101641
Designers: 8790 | Posters Awaiting Approval: 28


   
 
RSS Feeds

Forums

New Arrivals
 Welcome to GigPosters.com! 
Registration is FREE. Join the community by clicking here!
Go Back   GigPosters.com > General Discussion > Legal Issues

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 05:04 AM
boatdreams's Avatar
Premium Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicagoland/Montreal

$425
Default Paypal scam

This probably isn't the most appropriate section to post this in, but it might be worth mentioning.
I'm sure most people on here wouldn't fall for this, but I actually almost did. I got an email (coincidentally while out of town) saying that my Paypal account had been frozen due to several failed login attempts on different computers. So I was prompted to give all my account information, credit card information, etc. to "reactivate" my account. They wanted my social security number, which was odd. Then I check the email from which the message was sent -- didn't look very Paypalish. I logged into paypal, and my account was never frozen. Those dickbags almost tricked me.

Quote:
We recently have determined that different computers have logged
into your account, and multiple password failures were present
before the login. Therefore your account has been limited.

Please download the form attached to this email and open it in a web browser.
Once opened, you will be provided with steps to restore your account access.
We appreciate your understanding as we work to ensure account safety.

PayPal All rights reserved.
just a little heads up!
__________________
justinsantora.com
a letter of resignation

"EMILY! FOCUS! CHEESE?"
-Steve W
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:41 AM
JustinHelton's Avatar
Premium Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,614
Comments: 1354
Default

yeah did it have your name on it as well? I got one the other day that actually had my name in the email which was weird...but it was a scam as well...I NEVER go through an email to get to paypal...if I get one, I go to the site and sign in there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:55 AM
philaarts.com's Avatar
Premium Member

Join Date: May 2001
Location: detroit
Posts: 47,644
Comments: 4750
Send a message via AIM to philaarts.com
Default

im gonna get millions from a nigerian prince.
__________________
"i pretty much think dave has nothing of any value to offer anyone on gigposters.com"-jay ryan
"im the brown note of lighting"-me


PSTRSTOM-N-DAVE.COM •My Blog For New Attitions To Our Site ROMG!!!! •My Myspace Acct!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 07:07 AM
JustinHelton's Avatar
Premium Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,614
Comments: 1354
Default

I dont even want to know what you had to do to get that.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 07:09 AM
philaarts.com's Avatar
Premium Member

Join Date: May 2001
Location: detroit
Posts: 47,644
Comments: 4750
Send a message via AIM to philaarts.com
Default

just had to help with transactions.. simple.. i was a lucky email reciepientz
__________________
"i pretty much think dave has nothing of any value to offer anyone on gigposters.com"-jay ryan
"im the brown note of lighting"-me


PSTRSTOM-N-DAVE.COM •My Blog For New Attitions To Our Site ROMG!!!! •My Myspace Acct!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:04 AM
slidingpast's Avatar
Premium Member

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 5,086
Comments: 804
Default

all of these bogus emails are easy to spot.
I got one a few days ago from someone using an AOL address.

for those that don't know, all of these type emails should be forwarded to spoof@paypal.com .
__________________
conformity will kill us all.

"the only thing that matters is to get them to sign on the line which is dotted."

http://www.myspace.com/somethingmustbreakmusic
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:06 AM
Steve Chanks's Avatar
Premium Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In the shadow of the Empire State Building
Posts: 5,135
Comments: 816
Send a message via AIM to Steve Chanks
Default

Paypal's fraud info section says that any email from them will include your REAl name and a message saying to go to Paypal and log in to your account.

They warn to never click a link within the email, always go to your account or contact them directly.

Just a heads
__________________
www.SteveChanks.com
---------------------------------------------------
Illustration, Design and Other Cool Crap!
---------------------------------------------------
"I think that swinging a machete at somebody really says something about how deeply you dislike them."
-Macthulu
---------------------------------------------------
ROYAL FLUSH BOOK 6
Get it NOW!!! http://www.gigposters.com/classified...eid=9885&pre=1
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:07 AM
soupsandwich's Avatar
Premium Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 3,663
Comments: 2772
Default

they usually have clumsy wording too...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:12 AM
philaarts.com's Avatar
Premium Member

Join Date: May 2001
Location: detroit
Posts: 47,644
Comments: 4750
Send a message via AIM to philaarts.com
Default

is this where i post my social security number to get into my acct???
__________________
"i pretty much think dave has nothing of any value to offer anyone on gigposters.com"-jay ryan
"im the brown note of lighting"-me


PSTRSTOM-N-DAVE.COM •My Blog For New Attitions To Our Site ROMG!!!! •My Myspace Acct!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:33 AM
ZOMIC's Avatar
Premium Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Penna
Send a message via AIM to ZOMIC

$25.00
Default

I only get offers for drugs and online college degrees......Do you want to make more money? Sure we all do
__________________
Posters
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0