gigposters.com - gig posters, flyers and handbills from around the world!

Playing Cards Project

GOAL:

To create a 2nd custom deck of high-quality playing cards. The decks of cards will be sold on gigposters.com to help fund the website costs. (another item in the merch section, sold at Flatstock events, etc.)

SPECIFICS:

- At this time, the plan is create 2000 decks. (This number may increase if there is a high interest in bulk wholesale pre-sales.)
- 55 card deck (52 standard cards / 2 jokers / 1 info card featuring designer credits)
- Standard custom backs on all cards
- Custom full color tuck box
- Standard Bridge Size (3.5 x 2.344 inches)
- 300 GSM High Gloss Plastic-coated Paper

DESIGNERS:

CARD NAME WEBSITE
ART
$50
4YOU
FS8
Tuck Box Little Jacket little-jacket.com
-
Banner Ad
X
Standard Back Powerhouse Factories Inc. phfdesign.com
Banner Ad
Joker (black) Lars P. Krause douze.de
20 Classified Ads
X
Joker (red) Punchgut punchgutstudio.com
Banner Ad
X
2 Clubs Mike Budai crayondracula.com
20 Classified Ads
3 Clubs Craig Horky -
Banner Ad
X
4 Clubs Dr. Alderete jorgealderete.com
Banner Ad
X
5 Clubs Billy Perkins -
20 Classified Ads
6 Clubs Justin Kamerer angryblue.com
20 Classified Ads
7 Clubs John Warner jduballstars.com
Banner Ad
8 Clubs Steve W screwballpress.com
m?
m
20 Classified Ads
9 Clubs Spike Press spikepress.com
Banner Ad
10 Clubs Mark Moore bolexrex.com
20 Classified Ads
X
J Clubs Lonny Unitus lonnyunitus.com
Banner Ad
Q Clubs San Miguel atelierclandestin.com
Banner Ad
K Clubs Jagmo jagmo.com
Banner Ad
A Clubs Justin Walsh resist-imposters.com
Banner Ad
X
CARD NAME WEBSITE
ART
$50
4YOU
FS8
2 Diamonds Todd Stewart breeree.com
20 Classified Ads
X
3 Diamonds Alan Hynes alanhynes.com
20 Classified Ads
4 Diamonds Mark Pedini bipedalini.com
20 Classified Ads
5 Diamonds Matt Davis mattdidit.com
20 Classified Ads
X
6 Diamonds Dimitri Simakis valianteffort.net
Banner Ad
X
7 Diamonds Lure Design luredesigninc.com
Banner Ad
8 Diamonds S. Blake monsterpress.ca
20 Classified Ads
X
9 Diamonds Devon Varmega hair-party.com
20 Classified Ads
X
10 Diamonds Ezra Pound ezpound.com
20 Classified Ads
X
J Diamonds John Foster fuszion.com
20 Classified Ads
X
Q Diamonds Mike Murphy murphy151.com
m
20 Classified Ads
X
K Diamonds Jamie Ward redcabin.org
20 Classified Ads
A Diamonds GalaxyReno galaxyreno.com
20 Classified Ads
CARD NAME WEBSITE
ART
$50
4YOU
FS8
2 Spades Tim Huesken timhuesken.com
Banner Ad
X
3 Spades Edward Maddison edwardmaddison.com
Banner Ad
X
4 Spades Jeff LaChance jefflachance.com
Banner Ad
5 Spades Jason Cooper blackheartstudios.com
Banner Ad
6 Spades Tanxxx tanxxx.free.fr
20 Classified Ads
X
7 Spades Mike Klay mikeklay.com
20 Classified Ads
X
8 Spades 8Ball mevseverybody.com
20 Classified Ads
9 Spades Johnny Crap johnnycrap.com
Banner Ad
X
10 Spades Richie Goodtimes -
20 Classified Ads
J Spades Jesse Philips nearfuture.org
Banner Ad
X
Q Spades Adam Turman adamturman.com
20 Classified Ads
K Spades Jeral Tidwell humantree.com
Neither
A Spades Malleus malleusdelic.com
Banner Ad
X
CARD NAME WEBSITE
ART
$50
4YOU
FS8
2 Hearts Withremote withremote.com
20 Classified Ads
X
3 Hearts Michael Buchmiller handcarvedgraphics.com
Banner Ad
X
4 Hearts Sara Turner cricket-press.com
Banner Ad
5 Hearts Travis Bone furturtle.com
Banner Ad
6 Hearts BruteFish brutefish.com
Banner Ad
7 Hearts Keith G Herzik keithherzik.com
20 Classified Ads
8 Hearts Nate Duval nateduval.com
20 Classified Ads
X
9 Hearts Sasha Barr thisisthenewyear.com
Banner Ad
10 Hearts Drew Millward drewmillward.com
20 Classified Ads
X
J Hearts Jon Smith smithbellcraft.com
Banner Ad
X
Q Hearts Michael Michael Motorcycle michaelmichaelmotorcycle.com
20 Classified Ads
K Hearts Zach Hobbs -
20 Classified Ads
A Hearts Uncle Charlie unclecharlieart.com
Banner Ad


 

PROJECT FUNDING:

I do not have enough money to foot the bill for this entire project upfront, therefore, all designers who are chosen to participate will have to do the following:

- Each designer will pay $50 USD to be included. (payment is due BEFORE the deadline) PayPal to clay@gigposters.com is preferred.
- Each designer will receive 10 packs of cards to do with as you please. (give to family and friends, sell on your website, etc)
- Each designer will receive 1 uncut card sheet to do with as you please. (give to family and friends, sell on your website, etc)
- Each designer will receive one of the following (your choice):

  • 20 classified ad credits
  • 1 month of banner advertising

I wish I could offer the designers more .. but I honestly can't.

***Please let me know your mailing address, and what you want when you make your payment!***

***YOU WILL RECEIVE YOUR STUFF AFTER YOUR ART IS RECEIVED BY ME***

 

TIMELINE:

Art submission deadline is January 15, 2006. **NOT A SECOND LATE!!! You will be kicked out of the project immediately and replaced if you can't make the deadline. PLEASE submit your art early if possible. Thanks!

WHOLESALE:

If anyone is interested in purchasing large quantities of cards wholesale, please let me know BEFORE I order the decks. (large means 50+) If there is enough interest .. I will increase the order to compensate.

ART GUIDELINES:

- ART ONLY PLEASE!! - not gig posters .. no band names .. no text at all would be preferred!

- FULL COLOR - these are not screenprints. Feel free to use shading, etc. I do not care if the colors in your art match the suit (black or red)

- The backs of the cards are full bleed. All other cards are 35.5mm x 71.1mm (no .. I don't know what this is in inches)

- Please keep the art clean enough for a kid to see. Someday, I want my kid to be able to play with these cards. So .. no nudity, racism etc. If you are unsure, just email me and let me know what you have in mind.

- Art must be emailed to clay@gigposters.com before the deadline. The card company prefers EPS files. If possible, submit it as an EPS. Otherwise, send it as an illustrator file or a TIFF - at least 300 dpi (dots per inch). If you have any questions, please let me know.

 

-Clay